Skip to main content


This article is included in your selections.

This constitution, when adopted by a majority of the qualified voters of the Samish Indian Nation who actually vote at an election called for that purpose by the Secretary of the Interior or designate, provided, that at least one-third (1/3) of the General Council cast ballots in such election, and shall be effective from the date of certification of the election by the Election Board formed by the Secretary or designate as part of the constitutional election process.

Adopted by resolution of the Samish Tribal Council this 14th day of November 2003, at Anacortes, Washington, by a vote of 6 in favor, 0 against, and 0 abstentions, resolution number 2003-11-002.

Samish Tribal Council Chairman

Kenneth Hansen

Samish Tribal Council Vice-Chairman

Thomas Wooten

Samish Tribal Council Secretary

Chris DeKay

Samish Tribal Council Treasurer

Dee Branson

Samish Tribal Council Members:

Janet Castilleja

Ray Gorynski

Billie Jo Settle

Timothy King